Anderson Cooper Is Gay … Who Knew … Worst Kept Secret Is Out

Well there are many who probably wish this is earth shattering news but it’s kinda like finding out your Grandma admits to wearing dentures after getting her teeth stuck in corn cobs now and then.

Just a bit ago I found a Tweet from Andrew Sullivan announcing he has the big news on his blog The Dish.

There will be those who will say finally … at last .. at last .. he is free at last !

To wit I say … SNARK !

Look it was up to Coop when and if he said those “magic words” and not on anyone else’s timetable.

So as I have in the past when others kick open the door, I say, Welcome Home Anderson Cooper, Welcome Home.

I’ve also been reminded recently that while as a society we are moving toward greater inclusion and equality for all people, the tide of history only advances when people make themselves fully visible. There continue to be far too many incidences of bullying of young people, as well as discrimination and violence against people of all ages, based on their sexual orientation, and I believe there is value in making clear where I stand.

The fact is, I’m gay, always have been, always will be, and I couldn’t be any more happy, comfortable with myself, and proud.

I have always been very open and honest about this part of my life with my friends, my family, and my colleagues. In a perfect world, I don’t think it’s anyone else’s business, but I do think there is value in standing up and being counted. I’m not an activist, but I am a human being and I don’t give that up by being a journalist.

What this writer hopes is folks read, and I mean really read, all that Coop wrote in his email to Sullivan as there is a very good reason why international reporters need to stay in the closet much to the consternation of those who have been yelling, no make that screaming, that Coop should have come out a long time ago.

But then it’s not them who would have to put their life on the line when covering news in anti-gay countries and countries where the penalty for being gay could be the ultimate .. death.

Read this companion article posted Tuesday July 3 about journalists “being out” and the peril they face in doing so at Reporters Footnotes.

About Lyndon Evans
Associated Press Award Winner

Comments are closed.

